Africa AI Governance Index 2026 · Country profile on AI governance

Country Profile on AI Governance: Côte d'Ivoire

Côte d'Ivoire scores 2.03 out of 4 on the Africa AI Governance Index 2026. It sits in the Developing tier and ranks 14 of 54 states.

Region
West Africa
Version
1.2 · 7 October 2026
Evidence reference date
30 June 2026
Overview

Côte d'Ivoire at a glance

How to read this profile

The Index is diagnostic. It measures formal governance instruments, not capability. Composite differences under about 0.1 are not meaningful.

Country

Population (2024)
31.9 million
Region
West Africa
Regional economic communities
Economic Community of West African States
Geography
Coastal, 6 international submarine cable systems in service

Governance status

  • National AI strategy S1.1

    4 / 4

  • Data protection law G2.2

    3 / 4

  • AI regulatory body G2.5

    2 / 4

  • Malabo Convention ratification G2.7

    1 / 4

  • Kigali Declaration endorsement R7.2

    3 / 4

Scores are indicator scores on the 0–4 key in the method section, not maturity tiers.

Headline assessment

Côte d'Ivoire scores 2.03 out of 4 on the Africa AI Governance Index 2026. It sits in the Developing tier and ranks 14 of 54 states. The score rests on 75 of 80 indicators scored from the fellow country profile. The strongest pillar is Strategy & Vision (3.20). The weakest is Implementation & Impact (0.89). The West Africa mean is 1.27. The mean for all 54 states is 1.33.

Strongest pillar
Strategy & Vision3.20 / 4Established
Weakest pillar
Implementation & Impact0.89 / 4Nascent

Indicators scored: 75 / 80

Pillar scores

Pillar scores at a glance

Each pillar is scored from 0 to 4 as the mean of its scored indicators.

Bar chart of Côte d'Ivoire's eight pillar scores out of 4, compared with the West Africa mean and the mean of all 54 states. The same figures are listed beside each bar and in the table below.
  • Côte d'Ivoire score
  • West Africa mean
  • All 54 states mean
  1. P1Strategy & Vision
    3.20Established

    West Africa: 1.70
    All 54 states: 1.76

  2. P2Governance & Regulation
    1.70Emerging

    West Africa: 1.18
    All 54 states: 1.32

  3. P3Infrastructure & Data
    2.38Developing

    West Africa: 1.40
    All 54 states: 1.51

  4. P4Human Capital
    2.13Developing

    West Africa: 1.14
    All 54 states: 1.20

  5. P5Innovation & Ecosystem
    2.00Developing

    West Africa: 1.04
    All 54 states: 1.05

  6. P6Ethics & Inclusion
    1.60Emerging

    West Africa: 1.21
    All 54 states: 1.26

  7. P7Regional Integration
    1.70Emerging

    West Africa: 1.66
    All 54 states: 1.55

  8. P8Implementation & Impact
    0.89Nascent

    West Africa: 0.63
    All 54 states: 0.78

  9. Composite (weighted)
    2.03Developing

    West Africa: 1.27
    All 54 states: 1.33

View the pillar scores as a table
Côte d'Ivoire pillar scores on the Africa AI Governance Index 2026
PillarBasisWeightScore (0–4)MaturityWest Africa meanAfrica mean
P1 Strategy & VisionMean of 10/10 indicators15%3.20Established1.701.76
P2 Governance & RegulationMean of 10/10 indicators15%1.70Emerging1.181.32
P3 Infrastructure & DataMean of 8/10 indicators15%2.38Developing1.401.51
P4 Human CapitalMean of 8/10 indicators15%2.13Developing1.141.20
P5 Innovation & EcosystemMean of 10/10 indicators10%2.00Developing1.041.05
P6 Ethics & InclusionMean of 10/10 indicators10%1.60Emerging1.211.26
P7 Regional IntegrationMean of 10/10 indicators10%1.70Emerging1.661.55
P8 Implementation & ImpactMean of 9/10 indicators10%0.89Nascent0.630.78
Composite (weighted)—100%2.03Developing1.271.33
Country report

What the scores say about Côte d'Ivoire

Côte d'Ivoire scores 2.03 out of 4 on the Africa AI Governance Index 2026, in the Developing tier, and ranks 14 of 54. The Index scores 75 of 80 indicators. The strongest pillar is Strategy and Vision at 3.20, in the Established tier. The weakest is Implementation and Impact at 0.89. The composite sits above the West Africa mean of 1.27 and the Africa mean of 1.33. The evidence explains the profile: the country adopted its Stratégie Nationale de l'Intelligence Artificielle (SNIA 2030) on 13 March 2025 after broad consultation, while AI governance remains policy-based and the planned National AI Agency is not yet operational.

P1Strategy & Vision3.20 / 4Established

Côte d'Ivoire scores 3.20 on Strategy and Vision, in the Established tier. The country officially adopted the SNIA 2030 on 13 March 2025 (S1.1, score 4), and Prime Minister Robert Beugré Mambé presided over the launch (S1.3, score 4). Over 1,500 Ivorians took part in developing the strategy (S1.6, score 4), which prioritises agriculture, health, education, public services, transport, and cultural and language sectors (S1.7, score 4). The strategy carries a projected budget exceeding 1 trillion CFA francs through 2030 (S1.4, score 3) and a phased roadmap that the Ministry of Digital Transition and Digitalisation leads (S1.8, score 3). No monitoring and evaluation reports on implementation were publicly available as of June 2026 (S1.9, score 2).

See the 10 indicators for Strategy & Vision

P2Governance & Regulation1.70 / 4Emerging

Côte d'Ivoire scores 1.70 on Governance and Regulation, in the Emerging tier. Law No. 2013-450 of 19 June 2013 on Protection of Personal Data is enacted and in force, and ARTCI enforces it (G2.2, score 3). In 2024 ARTCI issued a formal notice and warning to the Ministry of Technical Education and Kaydan Group for data protection non-compliance (G2.8, score 2). No dedicated AI Act is enacted (G2.1, score 2). The SNIA 2030 plans a National Artificial Intelligence Agency, and no dedicated AI body was operational as of June 2026 (G2.5, score 2). Côte d'Ivoire has signed but not ratified the African Union Malabo Convention (G2.7, score 1). ARTCI does not disclose its headcount or budget (G2.4, score 0).

See the 10 indicators for Governance & Regulation

P3Infrastructure & Data2.38 / 4Developing

Côte d'Ivoire scores 2.38 on Infrastructure and Data, in the Developing tier, with 8 of 10 indicators scored. Two scores are retained and under second-edition review because they rest on fellow estimates with no published figure: international bandwidth, estimated at 3,000 Gbps (I3.4, score 4), and data centre count, estimated at about 5 (I3.1, score 3). The scoring basis counts 6 submarine cable systems (I3.3, score 3). INP-HB and Stellenium signed a memorandum of understanding for sovereign cloud and data infrastructure in October 2025 (I3.10, score 2). No national HPC facility exists (I3.6, score 1). Data centre capacity is not scored because total megawatt capacity is not publicly reported (I3.2). Foreign AI surveillance spending is not scored (I3.9).

See the 10 indicators for Infrastructure & Data

P4Human Capital2.13 / 4Developing

Côte d'Ivoire scores 2.13 on Human Capital, in the Developing tier, with 8 of 10 indicators scored. Two scores are retained and under second-edition review. Language coverage scores 4 on a count of 2 of 2, while the evidence describes support for Dioula and Baoulé as limited (H4.10). AI patents score 3 on a fellow estimate of about 5 with no published figure (H4.5). A government AI bootcamp for tourism startups ran in October 2024, and the IvorTech hub provides training (H4.7, score 3). The scoring basis records 0.74 AI papers per million people (H4.4, score 1). No adopted labour transition framework exists (H4.8, score 1). Regulator AI competency and university AI programmes are not scored (H4.2, H4.3).

See the 10 indicators for Human Capital

P5Innovation & Ecosystem2.00 / 4Developing

Côte d'Ivoire scores 2.00 on Innovation and Ecosystem, in the Developing tier. Three scores are retained and under second-edition review because each rests on a fellow estimate with no published figure: about 10 incubators and accelerators with AI focus (N5.3, score 4), 150+ AI companies (N5.1, score 3) and AI investment of about $70M to $80M (N5.2, score 3). A FinTech sandbox exists under the Central Bank of West African States, with no formal AI-specific sandbox (N5.4, score 2). A new Startup Law grants certified startups access to government procurement (N5.5, score 2). No dedicated AI safety testing facility exists (N5.6, score 1). The profile confirms no mandatory AI risk assessment frameworks (N5.9, score 1).

See the 10 indicators for Innovation & Ecosystem

P6Ethics & Inclusion1.60 / 4Emerging

Côte d'Ivoire scores 1.60 on Ethics and Inclusion, in the Emerging tier. Global participation is the highest indicator: the country participated in United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization AI consultations (E6.7, score 3). Citizens can file complaints with ARTCI under Law 2013-450 on automated processing, with no dedicated AI complaint channel (E6.4, score 2). ARTCI held formal public consultations in 2024 with civil society, the private sector and consumer groups (E6.8, score 2). No legal requirement exists for algorithmic impact assessments (E6.1, score 1), bias audits (E6.2, score 1) or AI transparency (E6.3, score 1). The profile identifies no AI-specific court cases (E6.5, score 1) and no formal youth participation mechanism in AI governance (E6.10, score 1).

See the 10 indicators for Ethics & Inclusion

P7Regional Integration1.70 / 4Emerging

Côte d'Ivoire scores 1.70 on Regional Integration, in the Emerging tier. The SNIA 2030 explicitly aligns with the African Union Continental AI Strategy adopted in July 2024 (R7.1, score 3). Côte d'Ivoire signed the Africa Declaration on AI in Kigali on 4 April 2025 (R7.2, score 3). It is a member of the Economic Community of West African States (R7.3, score 2). The evidence expects a delegation to the July 2026 United Nations dialogue, without official confirmation (R7.9, score 2). The profile identifies no provisions on AI in elections (R7.5, score 1) and no framework for AI-generated disinformation (R7.6, score 1). The file notes a presidential election on 25 October 2025 and a parliamentary election on 27 December 2025.

See the 10 indicators for Regional Integration

P8Implementation & Impact0.89 / 4Nascent

Côte d'Ivoire scores 0.89 on Implementation and Impact, in the Nascent tier, with 9 of 10 indicators scored. Financial services is the highest indicator: the Central Bank of West African States regulates fintech and operates a FinTech sandbox (M8.7, score 2). Health, agriculture and education are SNIA 2030 priority sectors with no AI-specific regulation enacted (M8.2, M8.6, M8.8, each scored 1). ARTCI keeps a registry of data processing activities, and no government registry of AI systems is identified (M8.4, score 1). No approval process for AI health devices was established as of June 2026 (M8.3, score 0), and no monitoring and evaluation reports on AI governance were published (M8.5, score 0). Budget disbursed is not scored (M8.1).

See the 10 indicators for Implementation & Impact

Indicator evidence

Evidence by pillar

Evidence and score for each of the 80 indicators, with sources. Scores use the 0–4 indicator score key in the method section, which is a different scale from the maturity tiers. “Not scored” means nothing could be determined, or a score had no supporting evidence: the indicator is left out of the pillar mean rather than counted as 0. “N/A” and “Context only” sit outside the score.

P1 · Weight 15% of composite

Strategy & Vision

3.20 / 4Established

Mean of all 10 indicator scores. West Africa mean 1.70 · all 54 states mean 1.76.

  1. S1.1

    National AI strategy existence

    Score 4 / 4

    Côte d'Ivoire officially adopted the Stratégie Nationale de l'Intelligence Artificielle (SNIA 2030) on 13 March 2025, presented to Prime Minister Robert Beugré Mambé.

    Note: Launched at Sofitel Hôtel Ivoire, Abidjan; co-presented with National Data Governance Strategy.

    Sources regulations.ai (opens in a new tab)

  2. S1.2

    Strategy adoption date

    Score 2 / 4

    SNIA 2030 formally adopted and publicly launched on 13 March 2025.

    Note: 2025-03

    Scoring basis Threshold applied. Adopted 2025-03: 15 months before 2026-06-30.

    Sources afdb.org (opens in a new tab)

  3. S1.3

    Political commitment signals

    Score 4 / 4

    Prime Minister Robert Beugré Mambé personally presided over the SNIA 2030 launch, stating 'We are building a Côte d'Ivoire where technology lifts every sector and every citizen.' Presidential backing via IvorTech hub under President Ouattara's office.

    Note: Highest-level political endorsement confirmed.

    Sources afdb.org (opens in a new tab)

  4. S1.4

    Dedicated AI budget allocation

    Score 3 / 4

    SNIA 2030 carries a projected budget exceeding 1 trillion CFA francs (~USD 1.8 billion) through 2030. An innovation fund of 450 billion CFA francs (~USD 800 million) was announced at Ivoire Tech Forum 2025. African Development Bank also committed 49 billion CFA francs (~USD 80 million) through the PARAE project.

    Note: Multi-year commitment; disbursement tracking not yet fully public.

    Sources ecofinagency.com (opens in a new tab)

  5. S1.5

    AU Continental AI Strategy alignment

    Score 3 / 4

    SNIA 2030 aligns with the AU Continental AI Strategy adopted July 2024. Côte d'Ivoire participated in AU consultative processes and its strategy mirrors AU priorities: investment, inclusion, governance, ethics, skills, infrastructure.

    Note: Partial alignment confirmed; full formal alignment documentation pending.

    Sources ecdpm.org (opens in a new tab)

  6. S1.6

    Multi-stakeholder consultation

    Score 4 / 4

    Over 1,500 Ivorians participated in SNIA 2030 development including public administration, private sector, academia, civil society, SMEs, and technical/financial partners. ARTCI conducted multi-stakeholder public consultation in April 2024 ahead of strategy launch.

    Note: One of the broadest consultations recorded for a West African AI strategy.

    Sources regulations.ai (opens in a new tab)

  7. S1.7

    Sector prioritisation

    Score 4 / 4

    SNIA 2030 explicitly prioritises agriculture, health, education, public services, transport, and cultural/language sectors. National Data Governance Strategy (SNGD 2030) launched April 2025 as complementary sectoral framework.

    Note: Sector roadmaps under development; agriculture and health given priority.

    Sources dig.watch (opens in a new tab)

  8. S1.8

    Implementation roadmap

    Score 3 / 4

    SNIA 2030 includes a phased implementation roadmap toward 2030 milestones. Electronic Administration Support Project (PARAE) provides immediate implementation backbone. Ministry of Digital Transition and Digitalisation leads execution.

    Note: Phased plan exists; public milestone reporting still nascent.

    Sources afdb.org (opens in a new tab)

  9. S1.9

    Monitoring and evaluation framework

    Score 2 / 4

    SNIA 2030 includes governance principles and oversight mechanisms, and a National AI Agency is planned. However, publicly available M&E reports on implementation progress are not yet available as of June 2026.

    Note: M&E framework designed; reporting cadence not yet operationalised.

    Sources ecofinagency.com (opens in a new tab)

  10. S1.10

    Strategy review mechanism

    Score 3 / 4

    SNIA 2030's governance pillar and proposed National AI Agency include mechanisms for periodic review. New 2026–2035 digital strategy unveiled June 2026 with AI as one of seven priority pillars, demonstrating iterative revision.

    Note: Review mechanism embedded in strategy architecture.

    Sources iafrica.com (opens in a new tab)

P2 · Weight 15% of composite

Governance & Regulation

1.70 / 4Emerging

Mean of all 10 indicator scores. West Africa mean 1.18 · all 54 states mean 1.32.

  1. G2.1

    AI-specific legislation

    Score 2 / 4

    No dedicated AI Act has been enacted. ARTCI initiated public consultations on AI and metaverse in April 2024. SNIA 2030 plans a 'Safe AI Côte d'Ivoire' certificate and a National AI Agency. AI governance remains policy-based as of June 2026.

    Note: Under discussion; draft regulation not yet gazetted.

    Sources lawgratis.com (opens in a new tab)

  2. G2.2

    Data protection law status

    Score 3 / 4

    Law No. 2013-450 of June 19 2013 on Protection of Personal Data enacted and in force. Decree No. 2015-79 operationalises data processing declaration/authorization procedures. Enforced by ARTCI.

    Note: Enforcement demonstrated through formal notices and warnings in 2024.

    Sources africanlegalfactory.com (opens in a new tab)

  3. G2.3

    DPA AI mandate

    Score 2 / 4

    ARTCI acts as data protection authority under Law 2013-450. In 2024 ARTCI issued surveys on AI/metaverse challenges, issued formal notices for data protection violations, and conducted enforcement actions. No explicit statutory AI oversight mandate exists but active informal AI engagement.

    Note: AI mandate developing; Article 47 of Law 2013-450 enables technology impact studies.

    Sources techhiveadvisory.africa (opens in a new tab)

  4. G2.4

    DPA staffing and budget

    Score 0 / 4

    ARTCI staff structure is publicly listed but current headcount and annual budget figures are not publicly disclosed.

    Note: Data unavailable as of June 2026.

    Scoring basis Fellow score kept; no raw value for the threshold.

    Sources dataprotection.africa (opens in a new tab)

  5. G2.5

    AI regulatory body existence

    Score 2 / 4

    SNIA 2030 plans establishment of a National Artificial Intelligence Agency. No dedicated AI governance body is yet operational as of June 2026. ARTCI plays a dual regulatory/oversight role in the interim.

    Note: National AI Agency creation underway per SNIA 2030 roadmap.

    Sources ecofinagency.com (opens in a new tab)

  6. G2.6

    Institutional design model

    Score 2 / 4

    Hybrid model: ARTCI handles data protection/ICT regulation; Ministry of Digital Transition leads AI strategy; National Cybersecurity Agency (ANSSI) established October 2024 handles cyber risks. National AI Agency planned to provide dedicated AI oversight.

    Note: Transitioning from multi-body hybrid toward dedicated AI body.

    Sources trade.gov (opens in a new tab)

  7. G2.7

    Malabo Convention ratification

    Score 1 / 4

    Côte d'Ivoire has signed but not ratified the AU Malabo Convention on Cyber Security and Personal Data Protection. Pan-African Parliament delegation briefed Ministry of Foreign Affairs in October 2024; ratification pledged but not yet completed.

    Note: Signed; ratification commitment made but pending parliamentary process.

    Sources pap.au.int (opens in a new tab)

  8. G2.8

    Enforcement actions taken

    Score 2 / 4

    ARTCI issued a formal notice and warning to the Ministry of Technical Education and Kaydan Group for data protection non-compliance in 2024, requiring remediation within 60 days. ARTCI also warned against disproportionate biometric processing in June 2024.

    Note: Data protection enforcement active; AI-specific enforcement not yet recorded.

    Sources techhiveadvisory.africa (opens in a new tab)

  9. G2.9

    Extraterritorial provisions

    Score 2 / 4

    Law No. 2013-450 requires prior authorization from ARTCI for cross-border data transfers only where destination country provides equivalent protection. Partial extraterritorial coverage of foreign digital actors processing Ivorian citizens' data.

    Note: General GDPR-inspired framework; AI-specific extraterritoriality not addressed.

    Sources dataprotection.africa (opens in a new tab)

  10. G2.10

    IP framework for AI

    Score 1 / 4

    No formal legislative review of intellectual property law for AI-generated content has been announced or enacted. SNIA 2030 includes reference to protecting Ivorian cultural heritage via AI/language tools but IP framework review is at awareness stage only.

    Note: IP review for AI content under informal discussion.

    Sources regulations.ai (opens in a new tab)

P3 · Weight 15% of composite

Infrastructure & Data

2.38 / 4Developing

Mean of the 8 scored indicators; 2 carry no score. West Africa mean 1.40 · all 54 states mean 1.51.

No score: 1 not scored (excluded from the mean), 1 context only.

  1. I3.1

    Data center count

    Score 3 / 4

    Côte d'Ivoire has a small but growing commercial data center market concentrated in Abidjan. Government SOC/data center upgrade planned under PARAE project. INP-HB and Stellenium signed MoU for sovereign cloud and data infrastructure in October 2025.

    Note: Exact commercial count not publicly disclosed; estimate based on available sources.

    Scoring basis Threshold applied. Raw value read from the evidence: "~5" [score_raw estimate; notes: "Exact commercial count not publicly disclosed; estimate based on available sources."]. Listed for second-edition review: The raw value is a fellow estimate with no published figure behind it.

    Sources ecofinagency.com (opens in a new tab)

  2. I3.2

    Data center capacity (MW)

    Not scored: Excluded from the pillar mean

    Total MW capacity not publicly reported. Government eco-friendly data center planned under PARAE initiative supported by AfDB.

    Note: Capacity data unavailable as of June 2026.

    Scoring basis Not determined; excluded from the pillar mean. Fellow entry "Unknown" is not a 0–4 score and no usable raw value was found.

    Sources afdb.org (opens in a new tab)

  3. I3.3

    Submarine cable landing points

    Score 3 / 4

    Côte d'Ivoire has multiple submarine cable landing points including ACE, SAT-3, WACS, and MainOne cables, giving Abidjan strong international connectivity.

    Note: Multiple redundant international connections confirmed.

    Scoring basis Threshold applied. 6 cable systems (TeleGeography, accessed 2026-10-06).

    Sources pulse.internetsociety.org (opens in a new tab)

  4. I3.4

    International bandwidth (Gbps)

    Score 4 / 4

    Côte d'Ivoire benefits from multiple submarine cables and is among the best-connected countries in West Africa for international bandwidth. Exact total bandwidth not publicly published.

    Note: Estimate; official ITU data pending.

    Scoring basis Threshold applied. 3000 Gbps ÷ 31.93m = 93.94 Gbps per million. Raw value read from the evidence: "~3,000 Gbps" [score_raw; notes: "Estimate; official ITU data pending."; evidence: exact total not published]. Listed for second-edition review: The raw value is a fellow estimate with no published figure behind it; the evidence says the total is not published.

    Sources trade.gov (opens in a new tab)

  5. I3.5

    Hyperscaler presence

    Score 2 / 4

    Orange (France) has substantial local infrastructure and cloud presence. MTN also operates in Côte d'Ivoire. Major global hyperscalers (AWS, Azure, Google Cloud) do not have local data center nodes. INP-HB/Stellenium sovereign cloud project underway.

    Note: 2 regional providers with cloud services; global hyperscalers not yet locally present.

    Sources ecofinagency.com (opens in a new tab)

  6. I3.6

    GPU/HPC access

    Score 1 / 4

    GPU/HPC access limited primarily to academic institutions (INP-HB, Université Félix-Houphouët-Boigny). No national HPC facility exists. SNIA 2030 identifies computing infrastructure development as a priority.

    Note: Academic-only access; national facility planned but not operational.

    Sources dig.watch (opens in a new tab)

  7. I3.7

    Data localisation provisions

    Score 2 / 4

    Law No. 2013-450 and Decree 2015-79 include sectoral data handling provisions. SNIA 2030 and SNGD 2030 (April 2025) address data localisation principles. No comprehensive data localisation law enacted.

    Note: Sectoral provisions exist; general framework developing under SNGD 2030.

    Sources regulations.ai (opens in a new tab)

  8. I3.8

    Cross-border data flow framework

    Score 2 / 4

    Law 2013-450 requires prior ARTCI authorisation for cross-border data transfers to countries with equivalent protection. SNGD 2030 (April 2025) addresses cross-border framework. No comprehensive multilateral data flow agreement concluded.

    Note: Bilateral/regional framework developing; ECOWAS data protocol relevant.

    Sources africanlegalfactory.com (opens in a new tab)

  9. I3.9

    Foreign AI surveillance spending

    Context only: Context flag outside the score

    No publicly documented government spending specifically on foreign AI surveillance systems identified. ARTCI issued warning against disproportionate biometric surveillance in 2024. Kaspersky data shows 37% of industrial computers targeted by malware in 2024.

    Note: Data not publicly available; surveillance procurement not disclosed.

    Scoring basis Context flag; outside the score.

    Sources ecofinagency.com (opens in a new tab)

  10. I3.10

    Sovereign cloud initiatives

    Score 2 / 4

    INP-HB and Stellenium signed MoU in October 2025 for sovereign cloud and AI data infrastructure. PARAE project includes government eco-friendly data center upgrade. SNGD 2030 references data sovereignty as a strategic objective.

    Note: Sovereign cloud under development; not yet operational at national scale.

    Sources ecofinagency.com (opens in a new tab)

P4 · Weight 15% of composite

Human Capital

2.13 / 4Developing

Mean of the 8 scored indicators; 2 carry no score. West Africa mean 1.14 · all 54 states mean 1.20.

No score: 2 not scored (excluded from the mean).

  1. H4.1

    AI researchers per million

    Score 2 / 4

    Estimated 3–5 AI researchers per million population based on Google Scholar profiles and university affiliations. Exact figures not officially published. 2023 Oxford Insights ranked Côte d'Ivoire 138th in Government AI Readiness, reflecting limited research capacity.

    Note: Conservative estimate; official census of AI researchers not published.

    Scoring basis Threshold applied. Raw value: 4 (AI researchers per million).

    Sources ecofinagency.com (opens in a new tab)

  2. H4.2

    DPA staff with AI competency

    Not scored: Excluded from the pillar mean

    ARTCI staff details not publicly disclosed. No specific data on AI-competent staff within ARTCI.

    Note: Staff AI competency data unavailable.

    Scoring basis Not determined; excluded from the pillar mean. Fellow entry "Unknown" is not a 0–4 score and no usable raw value was found.

    Sources dataprotection.africa (opens in a new tab)

  3. H4.3

    University AI programs

    Not scored: Excluded from the pillar mean

    Université Félix-Houphouët-Boigny (UFHB), INP-HB, INPHB Yamoussoukro, Université Nangui Abrogoua, and Institut National Polytechnique Félix Houphouët-Boigny offer relevant CS/IT programs with emerging AI/ML content. Dedicated AI degree programs nascent.

    Note: Formal AI degree programs limited; mostly CS programs with AI modules.

    Scoring basis Not determined; excluded from the pillar mean. Fellow entry "~5" is not a 0–4 score and no usable raw value was found.

    Sources ecofinagency.com (opens in a new tab)

  4. H4.4

    African-authored AI publications

    Score 1 / 4

    Estimated 20–40 annual AI-related publications with Ivorian institutional affiliations based on Scopus/Google Scholar review. Research concentrated at INP-HB and UFHB.

    Note: Official annual publication count not tracked; estimate based on desk review.

    Scoring basis Threshold applied. 23.7 papers/yr ÷ 31.93m people = 0.74 per million (floors applied).

    Sources dig.watch (opens in a new tab)

  5. H4.5

    AI patents filed

    Score 3 / 4

    Very limited AI patent activity. No national IP database with AI-specific tracking identified. Estimate based on WIPO data and regional benchmarks.

    Note: AI patent count approximate; WIPO Côte d'Ivoire filings very low.

    Scoring basis Threshold applied. Raw value read from the evidence: "~5" [score_raw; "Estimate based on WIPO data and regional benchmarks."]. Listed for second-edition review: The raw value is a fellow estimate with no published figure behind it.

    Sources wipo.int (opens in a new tab)

  6. H4.6

    K-12 CS education

    Score 2 / 4

    CS/ICT education introduced in some secondary schools as pilot/elective. Government's 2021-2025 digital strategy included ICT integration in secondary curriculum through CAFOP teacher training pilots. Not yet nationwide mandatory.

    Note: Pilot phase; K-12 AI education not yet at scale.

    Sources thedocs.worldbank.org (opens in a new tab)

  7. H4.7

    AI workforce training programs

    Score 3 / 4

    SNIA 2030 prioritises local skills development. Government AI bootcamp for tourism startups conducted October 2024. IvorTech innovation hub provides training. 3MTT-equivalent digital skills programs active. CI20 coalition of leading startups also trains talent.

    Note: Government-backed programs at pilot/growing scale; not yet national scale.

    Sources jumelages-partenariats.com (opens in a new tab)

  8. H4.8

    Labour transition policy

    Score 1 / 4

    SNIA 2030 acknowledges labour market transition but no formal adopted government framework for AI and labour market transition exists. Under discussion within digital transformation agenda.

    Note: Labour transition policy nascent; informal economy impact not formally assessed.

    Sources dig.watch (opens in a new tab)

  9. H4.9

    Informal economy AI assessment

    Score 1 / 4

    No formal published government assessment of AI's impact on Côte d'Ivoire's informal economy (which accounts for ~40% of economic activity) identified. SNIA 2030 references inclusion but informal economy AI assessment not conducted.

    Note: Planned under SNIA 2030 inclusion pillar but not yet conducted.

    Sources regulations.ai (opens in a new tab)

  10. H4.10

    African language NLP coverage

    Score 4 / 4

    SNIA 2030 explicitly prioritises AI in local languages and cultural heritage protection. Dioula, Baoulé, and other Ivorian languages have limited but growing NLP/LLM support through research projects. French NLP well-supported.

    Note: French: strong. Major Ivorian local languages: limited NLP coverage. ~2-3 languages with meaningful support.

    Scoring basis Threshold applied. Raw value: 2 of 2 (languages supported / major languages), normalised 100. 100% of major domestic languages. Raw value read from the evidence: "Dioula, Baoulé, and other Ivorian languages have limited but growing NLP/LLM support" [notes: "~2-3 languages with meaningful support"; denominator (my own kno. Listed for second-edition review: The count of 2 of 2 gives the top score, but the evidence describes support for Dioula and Baoulé as limited and Baoulé coverage is not shown.

    Sources regulations.ai (opens in a new tab)

P5 · Weight 10% of composite

Innovation & Ecosystem

2.00 / 4Developing

Mean of all 10 indicator scores. West Africa mean 1.04 · all 54 states mean 1.05.

  1. N5.1

    AI companies count

    Score 3 / 4

    Côte d'Ivoire startup ecosystem ranked 5th in West Africa and 113th globally (Global Startup Ecosystem Index 2025). Total startups raised $350 million in 2024 (60% increase). Fintech, agritech, and healthtech lead. AI-specific company count estimated at 150+ based on ecosystem size.

    Note: AI-specific company count estimated; no official registry.

    Scoring basis Threshold applied. Raw value read from the evidence: "AI-specific company count estimated at 150+ based on ecosystem size." [lower-bound estimate; directory used: none]. Listed for second-edition review: The raw value is a fellow estimate with no published figure behind it; no directory is named.

    Sources ecofinagency.com (opens in a new tab)

  2. N5.2

    Private AI investment (USD)

    Score 3 / 4

    Ivorian startups raised $350 million total in 2024 with agritech ($70M), fintech, healthtech and green tech leading. AI is embedded in multiple sectors. Exact AI-specific investment share estimated.

    Note: Total ecosystem investment confirmed; AI-specific breakdown estimated at ~$70-80M.

    Scoring basis Threshold applied. Raw value: 75000000 (USD/year). Raw value read from the evidence: "AI-specific breakdown estimated at ~$70-80M." [midpoint of 70-80M; fellow estimate from $350M total (2024)]. Listed for second-edition review: The raw value is a fellow estimate with no published figure behind it; it is a share of total startup funding.

    Sources statsandmarketinsights.com (opens in a new tab)

  3. N5.3

    AI incubators/accelerators

    Score 4 / 4

    IvorTech (government-backed, Abidjan Plateau), Akendewa (digital skills and incubation), Seedspace Abidjan, ViVaTech-linked accelerators, and sector-specific incubators in fintech/agritech. Estimated ~10 active incubators/accelerators with AI focus.

    Note: IvorTech is the flagship government-backed innovation hub.

    Scoring basis Threshold applied. Raw value read from the evidence: "Estimated ~10 active incubators/accelerators with AI focus." [estimate; named hubs appear generalist]. Listed for second-edition review: The raw value is a fellow estimate with no published figure behind it; the hubs named are generalist.

    Sources techcabal.com (opens in a new tab)

  4. N5.4

    Regulatory sandbox (AI)

    Score 2 / 4

    No formal AI-specific regulatory sandbox identified. IvorTech serves informally as a startup support environment. New startup law passed granting certified startups access to public procurement ('levelisation'). FinTech sandbox exists under BCEAO.

    Note: General startup support exists; dedicated AI sandbox not yet established.

    Sources techcabal.com (opens in a new tab)

  5. N5.5

    Government AI procurement

    Score 2 / 4

    New Startup Law grants certified Ivorian startups access to government procurement. IvorTech connects startups to public sector. CI20 coalition supports domestic startup visibility. Formal AI-specific domestic procurement preference policy not yet enacted.

    Note: Procurement support through startup law; formal AI preference policy nascent.

    Sources techcabal.com (opens in a new tab)

  6. N5.6

    AI safety evaluation capacity

    Score 1 / 4

    No dedicated AI safety testing or evaluation facility exists. SNIA 2030 plans a 'Safe AI Côte d'Ivoire' certificate (developed with UNESCO) as future compliance mechanism. Academic safety research at INP-HB is emerging.

    Note: Safe AI certificate planned; accredited lab not yet established.

    Sources ecofinagency.com (opens in a new tab)

  7. N5.7

    ISO/IEC 42001 adoption

    Score 1 / 4

    No publicly confirmed ISO/IEC 42001 (AI Management System) adoption documented for Ivorian organizations. Awareness growing through SNIA 2030 governance pillar.

    Note: ISO/IEC 42001 awareness stage; no adoption confirmed.

    Sources dig.watch (opens in a new tab)

  8. N5.8

    Standards body AI competency

    Score 1 / 4

    ARTCI has a telecommunications/ICT mandate but no dedicated AI technical committee within the national standards body confirmed. SNIA 2030 governance pillar references standards development.

    Note: Standards body AI working group not yet established.

    Sources africanlegalfactory.com (opens in a new tab)

  9. N5.9

    AI risk assessment frameworks

    Score 1 / 4

    No sector-specific mandatory AI risk assessment frameworks exist. SNIA 2030 governance pillar includes principles for responsible AI. Safe AI certificate (with UNESCO) is planned as a voluntary framework.

    Note: Voluntary guidelines developing; mandatory frameworks not yet in place.

    Sources regulations.ai (opens in a new tab)

  10. N5.10

    University-industry AI partnerships

    Score 2 / 4

    INP-HB signed formal MoU with Stellenium for AI and sovereign cloud collaboration (October 2025). IvorTech facilitates university-industry connections. Côte d'Ivoire sent 20 startups to VivaTech 2025 creating international partnership links.

    Note: Formal MoUs exist; joint AI labs still nascent.

    Sources ecofinagency.com (opens in a new tab)

P6 · Weight 10% of composite

Ethics & Inclusion

1.60 / 4Emerging

Mean of all 10 indicator scores. West Africa mean 1.21 · all 54 states mean 1.26.

  1. E6.1

    Algorithmic impact assessment

    Score 1 / 4

    No legal requirement for algorithmic impact assessments exists. SNIA 2030 and planned Safe AI Côte d'Ivoire certificate (with UNESCO) will introduce voluntary ethical standards. Under development.

    Note: Voluntary guidelines planned; mandatory AIA not enacted.

    Sources regulations.ai (opens in a new tab)

  2. E6.2

    Bias audit requirements

    Score 1 / 4

    No bias audit requirements for AI systems established. SNIA 2030 governance pillar references fairness principles. ARTCI's AI consultation in 2024 raised bias/discrimination concerns in AI systems.

    Note: Voluntary bias considerations in strategy; no mandatory audit requirement.

    Sources dig.watch (opens in a new tab)

  3. E6.3

    Transparency obligations

    Score 1 / 4

    No mandatory transparency requirements for AI systems enacted. SNIA 2030 references ethical AI and transparency as goals. Safe AI certificate (under development) may introduce voluntary transparency standards.

    Note: Transparency obligation nascent; no statutory requirement yet.

    Sources regulations.ai (opens in a new tab)

  4. E6.4

    Citizen redress mechanism

    Score 2 / 4

    Citizens can file complaints with ARTCI under Law 2013-450 regarding automated processing (Article includes right not to be subject to decisions made solely on automated processing). No dedicated AI complaint channel exists.

    Note: DPA complaint mechanism applicable; dedicated AI redress mechanism not yet established.

    Sources dataprotection.africa (opens in a new tab)

  5. E6.5

    Judicial AI remedy

    Score 1 / 4

    No AI-specific court cases or specialist tribunal identified. General courts have jurisdiction; emerging awareness of AI-related disputes in commercial and data protection contexts.

    Note: No AI court precedent yet established in Côte d'Ivoire.

    Sources africanlegalfactory.com (opens in a new tab)

  6. E6.6

    AI advisory body diversity

    Score 2 / 4

    SNIA 2030 was developed with participation from diverse stakeholders including women's groups and youth. Ministry of Digital Transition leads coordination. National AI Agency (planned) expected to include diverse advisory board. Formal diversity requirements not yet mandated.

    Note: Diversity referenced in consultation process; formal mandate not yet established.

    Sources regulations.ai (opens in a new tab)

  7. E6.7

    Global AI governance participation

    Score 3 / 4

    Côte d'Ivoire participated in UNESCO AI consultations; implementing UNESCO Recommendation on AI (referenced in ECDPM 2024 analysis). SNIA 2030 co-developed with UNESCO Safe AI Label. Active participation in ECOWAS digital governance discussions.

    Note: Active member in UNESCO AI processes; GPAI and OECD participation less documented.

    Sources ecdpm.org (opens in a new tab)

  8. E6.8

    Civil society AI engagement

    Score 2 / 4

    ARTCI conducted formal public consultations in 2024 with civil society, private sector and consumer groups on AI/metaverse. SNIA 2030 development engaged civil society. Formal permanent advisory role not yet institutionalised.

    Note: Consultation conducted; ongoing formal civil society role not yet established.

    Sources lawgratis.com (opens in a new tab)

  9. E6.9

    African ethical framework reference

    Score 2 / 4

    SNIA 2030 references African cultural heritage protection and local language AI as strategic objectives. Ubuntu-style communal values referenced informally but not formally codified as foundational ethical principle in the strategy text.

    Note: African cultural heritage substantively referenced; Ubuntu specifically not yet named.

    Sources dig.watch (opens in a new tab)

  10. E6.10

    Youth participation

    Score 1 / 4

    No formal youth participation mechanism in AI governance identified. IvorTech and CI20 coalition provide indirect youth startup support. SNIA 2030 references youth as beneficiaries but not as governance participants.

    Note: Youth engagement in innovation; no formal governance role established.

    Sources techcabal.com (opens in a new tab)

P7 · Weight 10% of composite

Regional Integration

1.70 / 4Emerging

Mean of all 10 indicator scores. West Africa mean 1.66 · all 54 states mean 1.55.

  1. R7.1

    AU AI Strategy alignment

    Score 3 / 4

    SNIA 2030 explicitly aligns with AU Continental AI Strategy (adopted July 2024) and references AU frameworks. Côte d'Ivoire participated in AU AI consultative processes. ECDPM 2024 analysis confirms Côte d'Ivoire implementing UNESCO AI Recommendation.

    Note: Formal alignment documented in SNIA 2030; full adoption process ongoing.

    Sources ecdpm.org (opens in a new tab)

  2. R7.2

    Kigali Declaration endorsement

    Score 3 / 4

    The Africa Declaration on AI (Kigali Declaration) was signed in Kigali, Rwanda on April 4, 2025 by 49 African countries including Côte d'Ivoire. Implementing steps include alignment with AU Continental AI Strategy.

    Note: Endorsed; implementation through SNIA 2030 framework.

    Scoring basis Official signatory list applied. Signatory of the Africa Declaration on AI (Kigali, 4 April 2025), C4IR list: "Endorsed" = 3.

    Sources c4ir.rw (opens in a new tab)saaiassociation.co.za (opens in a new tab)

  3. R7.3

    REC AI governance coordination

    Score 2 / 4

    Côte d'Ivoire is an ECOWAS member state and participates in ECOWAS ICT/digital governance discussions. WAEMU (UEMOA) data governance through BCEAO FinTech sandbox. Active participant but not documented as ECOWAS AI governance leader.

    Note: ECOWAS active participant; AI-specific coordination at REC level nascent.

    Sources watra.org (opens in a new tab)

  4. R7.4

    Cross-border AI agreements

    Score 1 / 4

    No dedicated bilateral or multilateral AI governance cooperation agreements documented beyond the Kigali Declaration. PARAE project includes AfDB partnership. General digital cooperation agreements exist with France and EU.

    Note: General digital partnerships exist; AI-specific cooperation agreements nascent.

    Sources afdb.org (opens in a new tab)

  5. R7.5

    Election integrity AI provisions

    Score 1 / 4

    No specific legal or institutional provisions addressing AI in elections identified. ARTCI's data protection mandate covers biometric voter ID data processing. Disinformation concerns exist but no AI election integrity framework documented.

    Note: Under discussion; no formal electoral AI governance framework.

    Sources africanlegalfactory.com (opens in a new tab)

  6. R7.6

    Disinformation response framework

    Score 1 / 4

    ARTCI's cybersecurity and digital content mandate provides partial basis for disinformation response. ANSSI (established October 2024) handles cyber threats but no specific AI-generated disinformation framework enacted.

    Note: Ad hoc response capacity; dedicated disinformation AI framework not yet developed.

    Sources trade.gov (opens in a new tab)

  7. R7.7

    AI election incidents documented

    Score 1 / 4

    No documented AI-related election interference incidents publicly reported for Côte d'Ivoire.

    Note: 0 documented incidents.

    Scoring basis Threshold applied. Raw value: 1 (rule band). Scored on documented institutional response, not incident count.

  8. R7.8

    Platform content moderation

    Score 1 / 4

    No formal documented engagement with global platforms (Meta, Google, X) on AI content moderation for Ivorian context identified. ARTCI's general mandate covers platform regulation informally.

    Note: Informal dialogue only; formal platform AI moderation requirements not established.

    Sources africanlegalfactory.com (opens in a new tab)

  9. R7.9

    Geneva Dialogue participation

    Score 2 / 4

    Côte d'Ivoire is expected to send a delegation to the UN Global Digital Dialogue July 2026 based on its active international AI engagement (UNESCO, AU, Kigali Declaration). Official confirmation of delegation not yet published.

    Note: Expected participant; official confirmation pending.

    Sources dig.watch (opens in a new tab)

  10. R7.10

    G20/multilateral AI engagement

    Score 2 / 4

    Côte d'Ivoire participates in AU and ECOWAS multilateral AI/digital discussions. Represented at WSIS 2025 in Geneva. Not a G20 member but engages in Smart Africa and AU digital frameworks. VivaTech 2025 delegation demonstrated international positioning.

    Note: Active in African multilateral AI forums; G20/BRICS not applicable.

    Sources techcabal.com (opens in a new tab)

P8 · Weight 10% of composite

Implementation & Impact

0.89 / 4Nascent

Mean of the 9 scored indicators; 1 carries no score. West Africa mean 0.63 · all 54 states mean 0.78.

No score: 1 not scored (excluded from the mean).

  1. M8.1

    AI governance budget disbursed

    Not scored: Excluded from the pillar mean

    SNIA 2030 total projected budget >1 trillion CFA (~$1.8B) through 2030. AfDB committed 49 billion CFA (~$80M) via PARAE project (March 2025). 450 billion CFA (~$800M) innovation fund announced at Ivoire Tech Forum 2025.

    Note: Large commitment; disbursement tracking still nascent.

    Scoring basis Not determined; excluded from the pillar mean. Fellow entry "Committed: >$1.8B (2025-2030); Disbursed: ~$80M (PARAE, 2025)" is not a 0–4 score and no usable raw value was found.

    Sources ecofinagency.com (opens in a new tab)

  2. M8.2

    Health AI regulation

    Score 1 / 4

    No AI-specific healthcare regulation enacted. SNIA 2030 identifies health as a priority sector (AI diagnostics). WHO AI for Health guidance referenced in national strategy discussions. No formal health AI approval process established.

    Note: Health AI under discussion; no enacted regulation yet.

    Sources dig.watch (opens in a new tab)

  3. M8.3

    Health AI devices approved

    Score 0 / 4

    No formal AI health device/tool approval registry or process established as of June 2026.

    Note: Regulatory pathway for AI health devices not yet created.

    Scoring basis Fellow score kept; no raw value for the threshold.

    Sources dig.watch (opens in a new tab)

  4. M8.4

    Government AI system registry

    Score 1 / 4

    No comprehensive government registry of AI systems in use identified. ARTCI maintains a registry of data processing activities. SNIA 2030 governance pillar references need for AI system inventory.

    Note: Data processing registry exists under ARTCI; AI-specific registry not yet established.

    Sources africanlegalfactory.com (opens in a new tab)

  5. M8.5

    AI governance M&E reports

    Score 0 / 4

    No published M&E reports specifically on AI governance implementation identified as of June 2026. SNIA 2030 launched March 2025; too early for comprehensive reporting cycle.

    Note: First M&E cycle expected 2026/2027.

    Scoring basis Threshold applied. Raw value read from the evidence: "No published M&E reports specifically on AI governance implementation identified as of June 2026." Checked against the evidence on 7 October 2026: confirmed.

    Sources regulations.ai (opens in a new tab)

  6. M8.6

    Agriculture AI governance

    Score 1 / 4

    SNIA 2030 explicitly prioritises agriculture sector AI (accounts for ~20% of GDP). AI-powered land management and climate forecasting tools referenced. No agriculture-specific AI governance legislation enacted.

    Note: Agriculture AI priority in strategy; no sector regulation yet.

    Sources ecofinagency.com (opens in a new tab)

  7. M8.7

    Financial services AI governance

    Score 2 / 4

    Central Bank of West African States (BCEAO) regulates fintech/digital finance across WAEMU zone including Côte d'Ivoire. BCEAO FinTech sandbox operational. Mobile money regulation covers AI-enabled payment systems. Orange Money and Wave CI operate under BCEAO oversight.

    Note: BCEAO regional fintech regulation provides AI oversight baseline; AI-specific fintech AI governance not yet enacted.

    Sources statsandmarketinsights.com (opens in a new tab)

  8. M8.8

    Education AI governance

    Score 1 / 4

    SNIA 2030 identifies education as a priority sector. Ministry of Education digital curriculum integration underway. No specific education AI governance policy or guideline enacted.

    Note: Education AI under development in SNIA 2030 framework.

    Sources dig.watch (opens in a new tab)

  9. M8.9

    Measurable governance outcomes

    Score 1 / 4

    ARTCI enforcement actions on biometric data (2024) and data protection non-compliance represent early governance outcomes. Cyber Africa Forum 2025 contribution demonstrates growing awareness. AI-specific protective outcomes not yet systematically documented.

    Note: Anecdotal evidence of governance outcomes; systematic documentation pending.

    Sources techhiveadvisory.africa (opens in a new tab)

  10. M8.10

    WHO AI health guidance adoption

    Score 1 / 4

    SNIA 2030 references WHO AI health guidance. UNESCO Safe AI Label being developed as certification tool. No formal adoption resolution for WHO Ethics and Governance of AI for Health identified.

    Note: Awareness; formal adoption resolution not documented.

    Sources regulations.ai (opens in a new tab)

Method

What is the Africa AI Governance Index?

The Africa AI Governance Index 2026 assesses 8 pillars of national AI governance. Each pillar is examined through 10 indicators. The Index is diagnostic. It measures formal governance instruments, not capability. Composite differences under about 0.1 are not meaningful.

Indicator score key

Indicator score key, 0 to 4
ScoreDefinition
0 No evidenceNo policy, institution, or activity. Confirmed absence.
1 NascentInitial discussion, concept note, informal working group.
2 DevelopingDraft policy, institution forming, pilot, or formal consultation.
3 EstablishedAdopted policy or operational institution; limited enforcement.
4 AdvancedFully operational with enforcement and measurable outcomes.

Maturity tiers

Applied to pillar and composite means.

Maturity tiers by score range
TierMean score
NascentBelow 1.00
Emerging1.00 to 1.99
Developing2.00 to 2.99
Established3.00 and above

How scores are built

A pillar score is the mean of the scored indicators in that pillar. Confirmed absence scores 0. An indicator where nothing could be determined is excluded from the pillar mean and reported as not scored. A score with no supporting evidence is excluded.

The composite is 15% of each of pillars P1 to P4 plus 10% of each of pillars P5 to P8, on a scale of 0 to 4. In other words, P1, P2, P3, P4 carry 15% each and P5, P6, P7, P8 carry 10% each.

Source: Africa AI Governance Index 2026 Final Dataset, 54 countries, built 6 October 2026. Lawyers Hub, Africa AI Policy Lab. Version 1.2, 7 October 2026.

Suggested citation

Lawyers Hub, Africa AI Policy Lab (2026). Country Profile on AI Governance: Côte d'Ivoire. Africa AI Governance Index 2026, version 1.2, 7 October 2026. https://www.aipolicy.africa/country-profiles/cote-d-ivoire